Update #5 – School, Reading Slumps, and Harry Potter

Hi, everyone! I know I haven’t been very active recently but there were a few things getting in the way of me being very productive. Not only have I been in a sad reading slump for the past like month and a half, but because I have also been in school focusing on homework, tests, and balancing time with friends and family.

If anyone has any tips for getting out of a reading slump, they would be very much appreciated. Currently, I am easing myself back into reading by rereading Harry Potter (before I read The Cursed Child), because all I felt like doing was rereading something. It’s my first time rereading the whole series, and so far it has been a lot of fun. Rereading it is nothing like reading it for the first time. It is like you are visiting a familiar family, comfortable, relaxing, and welcoming. However,  it is still such a weird feeling for someone who likes to read as much as I do, to just not feel like reading.  Hopefully, reading for English class will be able to get me a little more on track as well, considering we have a lot of great books this year, unlike my last year’s curriculum.

On top of not feeling like reading, and in turn not having any reviews to write; my weeks and weekends have been jammed packed, with little time to really sit down and write posts. During the week, anytime I am not in school or at clubs, I am usually doing homework or working on guitar or watercolors (two things I am taking classes for at school, and therefore am working on improving). And when I finish that, all I really feel like doing is watching an episode of something on Netflix and falling asleep halfway through. Then the weekend comes, and Friday and Saturday I usually spend the days with my friends and family, with little time besides in the morning or at night. Finally, Sunday comes along, and all I do is homework. I try to prepare best I can for the next week, and try and get in some personal stuff I want to do, which is basically the only time I write blog posts anymore, or clean my room or anything. Don’t get me wrong, I do really like the routine of school, and how you see your friends much more often, but unlike the summer, there isn’t much downtime unless I actually plan it myself. 

I’m hoping to start more of a routine when it comes to writing posts, because believe me I love writing them and getting to read all of yours, but if I don’t pay attention, the weeks slip away very quickly, and before I know it I haven’t written anything in two weeks! So keep an eye out for more posts from me, most likely to be posted on Mondays, just to change up my schedule a little bit from my previous Wednesday posts. I will be on reader checking out some of your stuff as soon as I am done with this post! See you all soon!

-Lily

7 thoughts on “Update #5 – School, Reading Slumps, and Harry Potter

  1. We all get into slumps and need time away. When I was an English major I didn’t read for pleasure very often. All of my attention was focused on work and reading assignments. Allow yourself to indulge in Netflix. Sometimes we just flat-out need a break!😄

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That definitely makes me feel better! I think I just need to focus more on reading for enjoyment and not worrying about how much I am reading or what I am doing with what I read. Thats why I just gave in and am going back and reading some of my favorites again (like Harry Potter 🙂 I definitely wont be parting with my netflix anytime soon haha, theres still so much to watch!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. If you need a break, or find things changing in your life, it often just happens, and you shouldn’t feel too bad about it. The best way to get out of a reading slump is not to force it. Re-reading something you know you like is a good idea, because it won’t feel like a chore. Sometimes when I’m just not sure what to try next I borrow from other members of my family, or go to the library and just randomly pick something based on a cover or something like that. Hope you get settled into your new routine soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am working on not being so hard on myself this school year, so I am going to embrace the change instead of think about the past. I think I will be rereading books to get me back in the mood for sure, I can already tell it is working 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

