The Sunshine Blogger Award

(If you were wondering, yes all those pictures on my featured title picture are my pictures! Unless they are for movie reviews, in which I use screenshots, I am using all my own pictures. I am the one with the dark red hair and brown eyes!)

Screenshot 2016-08-07 at 11.38.53 AM.png

Hi everyone! Today I am going to be posting another blogger award tag, graciously passed on to me by sweatergiraffetravels.wordpress.com!  She is such a sweetheart and has a blog that has recently become one of my favorites to keep up with. Between dreamy travel posts that correspond with her real time trips, she finds time to share all kinds of photography and travel tips! The more I read her posts about her recent trip to China, the more I want to do a (now delayed) day by day blog post of my most recent trip and trips to come! If you haven’t checked out her blog yet, I would highly suggest it!

Anyway, onto the actual award! This award is the Sunshine Blogger Award, and is described as “an award given to bloggers by bloggers. It is given to bloggers who are positive and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.” Before I answer the questions, here are the rules.

Rules:
• Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
• Answer the eleven questions sent by the person who nominated you.
• Nominate eleven blogs to receive the award and write them eleven new questions.
• List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or your blog.

award31

1. What is your favorite genre of music, artist, or song?

Ultimately, I am not picky when it comes to music (as long as it isn’t country), and I have a very diverse playlist. However, if I had to pick one it would be the umbrella genre of rock. This includes alternative, punk, metal and everything in between. Basically, if it has an electric guitar, you can bet I’m there.

2. If you could travel the world with one person, who would you take with you?

This is a hard question seeing as I have two aspiring world travelers in my life, my mom and my best friend (ladyemrys.com). Picking which one to travel with would be torture, so for right now let’s just say I would travel around the world with either of them by my side!

3. Now, if you could only pack 3 non-essential items for a long-term trip, what would you pick?

Non-essential items… I will have to go with some books, a notebook +pens, and my camera. (In this list I am counting my cell phone as necessary for communication purposes, and also so I had room to put my camera on the list!)

4. What’s your favorite book?

Being a complete bookworm, picking a favorite book is hard. Some of my all time favorites include The Outsiders, Life Of Pi, Fight Club and The Night Circus. (Along with the obvious favorites like Harry Potter.)
5. What’s the last place on your bucket list?

I am not really sure how to answer this one. The last place on my bucket list would be somewhere I want to visit, but one that isn’t a huge priority. I don’t really prioritize the places I visit because most times I want to visit places equally as much, so I think I will just leave this one unanswered.
6. Where’s one place that you can find daily inspiration?

While it may not be the most inspirational place for most people, I find a lot of inspiration in my local library and bookstores. All the books and movies provide tons of information and inspiration for your newest ideas. Also, I tend to find a lot of inspiration in my own bedroom, something I’ve worked hard to achieve. Surrounded by pictures and maps of places I love makes me feel very inspired to work hard to explore.
7. City, suburbs, or countryside? Which would you rather live in? Which would you rather travel to?

My preferred place to live, as of right now, is a city suburb, or a town close to a city. Because while I wouldn’t mind being in the middle of a bustling city, there is something charming about living in a town where you have some space but are still able to walk places and experience things. Keep in mind this doesn’t necessarily mean your average suburbia, but even a beach town near a large city such as Los Angeles would be perfect for me. I would not want to live in the country, because while it is beautiful, it is a little too laid back for me and a little too deserted.
8. What’s something that’s surprised you about a new destination/experience?

I was never much of a beach person until traveling to California this summer. We had always gone to beaches in Mexico and Florida, which while stunningly beautiful, tend to be a little uneventful. Those beaches are ones where you go to just sit and relax, something I tend to be bad at, especially on trips. However, in California, every beach was an active beach with people running, biking, surfing, playing volleyball etc. They were full of excitement, and the waves, something I am absolutely enthralled with, were amazing. The beaches and beach towns there made me into something I never really thought I would be, a beach person.

This also was the first trip I’ve taken where afterward, I didn’t really itch to try somewhere new, I just wanted to go back there.
9. What are some of your favorite destinations in your hometown?

Living in a city suburb means that while there is a lot to do, it is oftentimes in the same places with the same faces. Honestly, as nice as it is where I live, it is easy to get bored of even your favorite places. So while I do get sick of them time to time, I tend to spend my time mostly at our local library, our nearest Starbucks and on our running/biking/walking path near my house. All of which are places where I can go to relax and find some fun.
10. How do you have fun at home?

When I am at home, I tend to find fun in doing art, writing, taking pictures, having fun with friends, blogging, biking/walking and spending time with my family.
11. And finally, because it’s been on my mind – if you were to take a gap year from work/school/life, how would you spend it?

Traveling obviously! I would get some friends together and visit some new places, we don’t have to spend a lot of money on stuff, just exploring, sight seeing, and getting some fun experiences in before going to college and joining the workforce. If I spent it any other way, I feel like I myself would feel it was a waste of time and that I should’ve just gone forward with my next year of studies. This is just because whenever I am home I like a schedule, and when I am away on a trip I do whatever makes me happiest, even if it isn’t the most productive.

I hope you guys enjoyed my responses! Now it’s time for me to tag eleven more blogs to pass on the award/tag too. If I tag you and you’ve already completed the tag, or it doesn’t fit into your blogging schedule or theme, no hard feelings! Just know I absolutely adore your blog!

Tagged Blogs: 

Book Wish Blog

The Son Dress

Paper Utopia

Confessions Of A Literary Addict

Written Word Worlds

Adventures Of A Bibliophile

My Infinite Reading List

Runs On Sunshine  (This tag is very appropriate given your blog name!)

Lady Emrys

The Nerdy Side Of A Queen

Books And Photographs

My Questions: 

  1. How did you start your blog and why? What inspired you to join the blogosphere?
  2. How (if at all) has blogging affected your lifestyle?
  3. If you could perfect any skill (whether you are working on it already or are completely clueless), which one would you choose?
  4. Are there any changes you would make to the current place you live? If so, what would they be?
  5. If you had to describe your life in a gif, what would you choose?
  6. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you go?
  7. What is your favorite season and what are the things you love about it? Any particular memories associated with it?
  8. If you could’ve given advice to your middle school self, what would it be?
  9. Do you have a famous idol that you look up to? If so, who is it? Why?
  10. If you could become famous, what would you want to be famous for?
  11. What is a book or movie you’ve recently watched that you’ve found to be eye opening and inspiring?

 

Thank you again for nominating me! I had fun answering the questions and making my own for all you great bloggers out there! Keep passing on the sunshine!

-Lily

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

