UPDATE #2 – TWO MONTHS OFF OF INSTAGRAM

If you were one of the 450+ people that were following me on Instagram, you may have noticed that about two months ago I deleted both of my accounts. Before you go making assumptions that I deleted them due to hate or to not reaching my goals (in terms of followers, likes etc.), I would like to  inform you that I deleted them entirely on my own terms.

If you have an Instagram or have had one in the past, you probably know how exciting it is to post that good selfie you took before going out to dinner, and to see the likes and compliment comments rolling in. You don’t realize it but it gives you a little boost of confidence as you are walking out the door. While having confidence is an amazing thing, gaining it from how other’s react to it is a completely different thing.

Your confidence is “a feeling of self-assurance arising from one’s appreciation of one’s own abilities or qualities.” Simply, it’s the positive viewing of yourself and your abilities. Everyone has confidence whether high or low, and it can be an enormous factor in your success in your life.  Studies by the  International Journal of Cosmetic Science have shown that not only are confident people more likely to make an impression talent-wise, they are also found more attractive romantically. There really is no reason to not boost your confidence when you look at the benefits of it.

Before divulging in how you shouldn’t boost your confidence, here are some natural and effective ways to give yourself the self-esteem you need to succeed, courtesy of inc.com. The first point, of course, is to eliminate negativity from your life, in all aspects. Whether it is toxic relationships or thoughts of giving up on your goals, you must work at chipping them away. Secondly, changing your body language can be an effective way to change your self-esteem as well. Focusing on your posture and your smile can not only be beneficial by tricking your brain into feeling happy and confident but can convince other people as well. Making you seem more approachable and in control of your life even if you aren’t. Finally, the simple act of making a list can be a physical stress buster. By listing things that you are proud of, or things you are thankful for, you are channeling your energy positively into reminding yourself of all the good things in your life. This list can also come in handy when you are having a bad day and need some cheering up in general. In the end, by keeping only positive things in your life, reminding yourself of them and by acting confident, you can easily improve your confidence.

Anyway, I found myself constantly focused on the attention I got on the account, and over time put more and more effort into making it what I thought other people would like instead of what I liked. Due to the fact that I enjoyed the compliments and likes and and such that I got on the account, I began to blur the line between what I liked and what everyone else liked. I would read books because they were popular, not just because I wanted to read them, etc. This was never the intention of the account, I really just wanted to get opinions from other bookstagrammers and join the community, however it turned into a huge procrastination tool and took a lot of attention away from the more important things in my life like school and socializing.

Upon the realization on my part, I realized I should just make the jump and delete it. I knew that the only way to get me off of it was to delete it all together since I tend to have kind of a weak will power when it comes to stuff that doesn’t have a lot of consequence and is my own decision (For example: running on a schedule…) . So I did it. I deleted my bookstagram and my personal Instagram, and while it was strange at first being without it, I’ve actually noticed a lot of improvement in my life.

Without the time spent on Instagram or taking pictures for Instagram, I was actually able to read more than before and watch more movies and do more things in general. I picked up lacrosse and began to volunteer at the hospital as well. Also, my grades went up. The correlation between the deletion of my accounts and the following events could be slim to none but I like to think that the absence of Instagram freed up a lot of my time and simplified my life a lot more.

However, I’m not totally off the grid, I still have a Tumblr, Twitter, Snapchat, and Facebook. Though, Instagram was easily the biggest for me, which explains how I wasted so much time on it and how much of a difference it made when I deleted my accounts for it.

If you ever feel overwhelmed or stressed or just need a break from everything, I highly suggest taking a break from social media. You don’t realize how draining it is on your physical, mental and emotional health. It doesn’t matter how you do it, extreme like me or just decide to go on a hiatus for a week or two, just take the leap! Go for it!

-Lily

 

Leave a Reply

