Perks of Being a Wallflower Review

Somehow, even with all the praise Perks of Being A Wallflower has gotten over the years, I  watched the movie for the first time a couple weeks ago. If you’ve read the book or seen the movie before, you’ll know it was an emotional rollercoaster. On top of that, I was already stressed out with school and such which made the emotions a lot easier to feel. Maybe that’s why I felt the need to torture myself further by rereading the book. And I don’t regret a second of it.

My Reaction In A Gif: If you were looking for a quick summary of my reaction to this book/movie so that you didn’t have to read my whole review, it basically can be summed up in this gif:

Summary: Charlie is a freshman, but instead of relishing in the excitement of high school, he found himself the odd one out. Though, after meeting some eccentric seniors, Sam and Patrick, Charlie falls into their unique clique. Between performances of Rocky Horror Picture Show and house parties, Charlie finds self-confidence he didn’t know he had. He becomes increasingly exposed to first love, good music, drugs, drinks and everything in between. However, as the year comes to an end and his new friends are breaking off for college, Charlie’s mental health threatens to ruin all he’s created for himself.

Rating: 5 STARS.

Why?: Our society is used to expecting one thing from high school, but experiencing another. We expect it to be like it is in the movies with the cute romances and fun group homework projects but it just isn’t like that in real life and Stephen Chbosky wasn’t afraid to tell it like it is. He uses raw emotion to depict the pressures and stress put on high school kids from all aspects of their life, their friends, their teachers, their families and themselves. Being a freshman this year, I can easily relate to Charlie’s struggles and the events that take place, this is also one of the reasons I enjoyed it so much. So of course after reading the book, I decided to further torture myself and not yet leave the character’s behind by watching the movie.

Movie: The impossible was accomplished within this movie. The directors made a movie adaptation that WAS BETTER THAN THE BOOK. Between an excellent cast including Emma Watson and Logan Lerman, and the adherence to the events of the book, it was hard not to love. This has made my top movies list mostly because of how much emotion I felt all throughout it. Oftentimes the voice of the writing is lost within the film, but this was an exception. The same feelings and emotions were there, maybe even amplified. This movie made me cry almost as much as Titanic which is saying a lot for me. I also felt the effects of this movie days after watching it, which is rare for a teen movie. If you are considering just watching the movie and not reading the book, I say go for it, you won’t regret it!

I’m sure plenty of you have read Perks Of Being A Wallflower, what were your thoughts? If you have any recommendations I would be glad to hear them! I’m hoping to catch up on some posts this weekend since I’m going to have some down time, more movie and book reviews to come!

-Lily

5 thoughts on “Perks of Being a Wallflower Review

Leave a Reply

