Mini-Movie Reviews #1 (Oldies But Goodies)

I’m sick of always being the person that hasn’t seen the old movie that people are referencing too, therefore, I’ve been catching up on movies that can be categorized as “oldies but goodies”.  Being a huge fan of the 80’s and 90’s movies I’ve already seen, it wasn’t too much of a chore to watch more of them! While I don’t want to write a long post for each one, I do want to share what I thought of them and why I wish I would’ve watched them sooner. From Armageddon to St. Elmo’s Fire, here are some movies I’ve watched (or rewatched) recently, and what I thought of them.

 

Armageddon:

I specifically put this one first because it was the only one of these that I didn’t give five stars. Don’t get me wrong I enjoyed it immensely but compared to all of these other movies, it just wasn’t on the same level.

Summary: When Nasa realizes that the world will be wiped out by a monstrous asteroid within the next couple weeks, they send a team of amateur astronauts to terminate the asteroid from the inside, but not without some casualties.

Rating: 4 Stars

Why?: A star-studded cast including Ben Affleck and Bruce Lee made Armageddon into more than just another action movie. Love, humor and explosions all play a role in this classic movie, separating it from the usual high power space expedition. On top of that, this soundtrack is the home to one of my favorite songs, and my all time favorite Aerosmith song, I Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing.

You can watch the trailer here

Titanic: 

Summary: Upon the infamous Titanic ship, Jack and Rose develop a romance that breaks the borders that the class system puts upon them. Unfortunately, as the ship goes down their time together must come to an end.

Rating: 5 Stars

Why?: With the duo of Leonardo Dicaprio and Kate Winslet, I could watch a movie about paint drying and be in love with it. Their chemistry combined with the mesmerizing story and effects, made the movie an immediate win with me, even if it is three and a half hours long.

You can watch the trailer here

Fight Club: 

Summary: The Narrator lives a boring everyday life, white collar job, Ikea furniture and insomnia. Except when he meets soap maker Tyler Durden, on a business trip, the world as he knows it is turned upside down. Tyler drags him into a world where you must destroy yourself to reach greatness, whether it be by their underground fight club, or through their constant acts of terror over their cities.

Rating: 5 Stars

Why?: Being the movie adaptation of one of my favorite books,  I was expecting to enjoy it from the get-go. And I wasn’t wrong. Instantly I loved the style of the movie, dark, creepy and full of mystery. The amazing casting only improved it. Edward Norton, Brad Pitt and Helena Bonham-Carter made up the main three characters and their chemistry together really made the movie stand out among typical action movies. The similarity to the book was definitely a perk as well, considering it kept it’s controversial nature. (Read my review of the book here.)

You can watch the trailer here.

Primal Fear:

Summary: Young Aaron Stampler, a stuttering altar boy, is taken into police custody when he is found splattered in blood fleeing from the scene of the murder of their city’s archbishop. Thankfully, a renowned defense attorney comes to his rescue, using Aaron’s weaknesses to save him.

Rating: 5 Stars

Why?: After watching Fight Club, I instantly took a liking to Edward Norton’s acting style, and this movie only enhanced it. In his breakthrough movie, he plays yet another insane character and does it well. Besides the actors, the story is on a topic that people often refrain from talking about, which makes it so interesting and disturbing. On top of that, the suspense only escalates throughout the film so you are invested the whole way through.

You can watch the trailer here

St. Elmo’s Fire:

elmo

Summary: A group of friends fresh out of college face the relentless reality of the real world in their searches for work, love and success. Often putting their relationships with each other at risk.

Rating: 5 Stars

Why?: I came to this movie simply to watch young Rob Lowe after seeing him in The Outsiders, but stayed after being wrapped up in the complicated lives of his friends. This movie will make you laugh, cry and cringe along with the main characters. It had a similar feeling to it that you get when you watch Friends. It makes you realize just how hard it is out in the real world, but having friends you can count on will make all the difference, even if they are a bit crazy.

You can watch the trailer here. 

I’m currently working on another post like this one that focuses on newer movies as opposed to these older ones. What was the last movie you watched? Did you like it?

-Lily

 

One thought on “Mini-Movie Reviews #1 (Oldies But Goodies)

Leave a Reply

