SURVIVOR REVIEW

If you read my most recent update post, you would know that originally a review for Perks of Being a Wallflower was supposed to be posted before this one, and before the other two books I have yet to write reviews for. But WordPress decided not to save my draft. So after losing over 1,000 words out of my book and movie review, I realized it may be better if I take a break from fuming over it now and channel it into reviewing for another book instead. This book happens to be Survivor by Chuck Palahniuk.

After loving Fight Club, I was looking for more by this author, and to my surprise I found that he has written plenty of books, all more satirical and cynical than the next. His most popular works consisted of Fight Club, Invisible Monsters (which I have yet to read) and Survivor. After comparing the plotlines of the two books, I decided that Survivor was to be my next Chuck Palahniuk read, and I wasn’t disappointed.

Summary: Twenty years after growing up under the control of a religious cult, Tender Branson finds himself the only survivor of his people. After all the other survivors commit suicide upon being confronted about their pasts, Tender begins to suspect murder. But seeing as he is the sole survivor, the media begins to suspect Tender as the murderer. Except in this day and age, what would be a better way to deal with this suspected murderer on their hands? Send him to trial or make him a spiritual superstar? You guessed it, it’s the latter. Follow him along on his journey to stardom accompanied by a productive caseworker, shallow agent, and psychic girlfriend.

Rating: 4 stars.

Why?: More now than ever I’ve been noticing the materialism and corruptness of our values in America, and Palahniuk’s satire helps me to realize that I’m not the only one seeing it. He’s blunt in his attack on our shallow ways of life and makes it more obvious than ever what’s going on when it comes to our celebrities, our faith, and our problems. From the main character creating a book of meaningless prayers that are then worshiped, to the agent making him lose weight in order for his followers to admire him, we are exposed to how shallow and superficial our beliefs are now a days. With many unique characters and their complicated pasts and presents, Palahniuk demonstrated once again his love for making his characters extreme and intense, even when it borders on insane. It made for an incredibly intriguing read, even if it could be admittedly disturbing at times.

How I Felt Reading This Book:

WARNING: If anyone is triggered by suicide or cult-like activity, be cautious with reading this book for it could be considered a trigger for those things.

So if you’re looking for a book that will make you realize just how insane our world’s values are and how crazy these people can be, I highly suggest this book. It’s eye-opening, and it’s actually quite funny at parts. In a whirlwind of chaos, everyone will be able to take something away from this read. Has anyone read a book like this? Does anyone have other satirical novel recommendations?

-Lily

P.S Sorry for not posting in a while, some how the fact that I have so many reviews to write is actually making me want to write them less!

 

Leave a Reply

