AND THEN THERE WERE NONE 

IMG_7239.JPG

I was originally at the library to pick up Clash Of Kings, but stumbled into the book discussion area anyway (even though I know it means just more additions to my To Be Read list) and found “And Then There Were None”. I didn’t feel too bad picking it up because it was so short and looked like an easy read that wouldn’t take away too much from my dedication to getting through Game Of Thrones. Plus I’m trying to read more classic stories along with the new books I’ve been reading, just to broaden my horizons. Though, even an easy read, I thought it could have been better.

Summary: Ten incredibly diverse people receive mysterious letters from a U.N. Owen, all for different reasons, luring them to the mysterious and infamous Soldier Island where they are promised a free vacation. With the charming aspect of escaping society for a little while, all ten jump at the bait and find themselves alone on the island with none other than themselves. Though one by one they are killed by a mysterious murderer in accordance to an old nursery rhyme. As more and more people are killed off, the characters that are left become more and more obsessed with being alive while they battle the guilt of what they have done in their past. By the end, there are none left, but who did it?

Rating: 3.5 Stars

Why?: While it was a quick and intriguing read, I just didn’t enjoy it as much as I could have because of the lack of depth. It wasn’t challenging, mentally or physically (as in the actual writing itself). While it has themes of justice and the Red Herring, there was little to no development in the characters and that makes it hard to relate to any of them. Also the fact that most of them were middle-aged men and their only problems were solving a murder mystery, it was hard for me to relate to them in general. And while that isn’t necessarily the author’s fault, it was something that made the story itself less gripping to me.

What were your thoughts on this if you’ve read it?

-Lily

8 thoughts on “AND THEN THERE WERE NONE 

  1. Are you an Agatha Christie fan or is this the first you’ve read of hers? This book is the first of hers I ever read, back in high school, thanks to my sister who was obsessed with her amongst other suspense writers. I have to agree that the character development is a bit lacking, but I encourage you to read more of her work. Some of my favorites are The Body in the Library and Murder in the Vicarage. She is quite adept at writing from a variety of perspectives–try the Miss Marple titles, perhaps, or the Poirot titles to get that sense of character development that you are seeking. The books are usually short but packed, and 9 times out of 10 are enjoyable!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely love And Then There Were None- I do agree that there is a lack of character depth and development, but I thought it was quite fitting for a murder mystery? I’m not sure, it just had me hooked- how it got straight to the point.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree it was good for a murder mystery, and i haven’t read many so I didn’t have much to compare it to either. It was a bit refreshing though to not have to think so much while you read it about other stuff aside from who the killer is 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

