I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN

Screenshot 2016-01-23 at 11.32.11 PM.png

I finished this book a couple of days ago and frankly I had to take a bit of a break before doing this, just so my feelings could cool down enough to write it. This book was a hundred times better than I thought it was going to be. Though I had watched it win awards and be praised endlessly, I was still skeptical about reading it. Maybe because I just wasn’t in the mood after finishing ACOTAR, or maybe I was afraid it was going to be too childish? Whatever it was ended up preventing me from reading this heartfelt story, that while not life changing, made me feel incredibly happy inside (and sad, and mad, and frustrated).

Summary: Jude and Noah have always been as close as can be, but as they arrive at their teenage years, their true colors begin to show as Jude spends her time in the lime-light being your stereotypical teenager and Noah shies away from all of it. From Noah’s perspective, we see them as they were at age 13. He saw Jude as cruel and manipulative, wishing they could just go back to how it used to be. Jude argues with their parents more and more and she brings herself closer and closer to being “that girl” as her mom refers to it, amongst her friends. While Noah, at this time, is only concerned with getting into a prestigious art school and getting to know the boy next door, which he soon realizes he is crushing on. The alternate perspective is told by Jude when the twins are at the age of 16. By now the tables have turned, and whatever happened between them turned Jude into a shy, superstitious young adult, and Noah into the daredevil cliff jumper who constantly spends times with Jude’s old friends in the “in crowd”. As the story goes on, we are able to piece together the events that changed them so dramatically as the stories intertwine more and more. Between betrayal, young love, a broken home and just plain spontaneity, this story is full of heartache, whether it hurts with sadness, or it hurts because it is about to burst with happiness.

Rating: 4.8 stars.

Why? : It’s not often that I find a YA realistic fiction novel that I loved as much as I loved this one. It may also have helped that I didn’t have extremely high expectations for it in the first place. But, It was just overall a very good story. Driven by lots of emotion, it was hard to put down and hard to not feel for the characters you were experiencing, from second-hand embarrassment to grief to extreme happiness. It gives hope to the rest of us, that even when it seems like everything in your life is crashing down around you, there’s still a way to reach a happy ending. Reading this book made me feel all the emotions but left me with a feeling of happiness and satisfaction. If you are looking for a book to cheer you up, I think “I’ll Give You The Sun” would be a great choice. (If the title doesn’t tell you that already.)

If you’ve read this, what were your thoughts on it?

-Lily

3 thoughts on “I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN

Leave a Reply

