A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES

IMG_6659.JPG

Usually, I’m not a huge fan of fantasy, but after reading A Court Of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas, I’m more in the mood for fantasy than ever. I actually finished this book a couple days ago, but honestly, it took me a while to get my wits together enough to write this review.

The story follows poor villager Feyre, a daughter responsible for carrying the weight of providing for her father and two sisters, who continue to be ungrateful and demeaning. When she kills a wolf in the forest near her house, she is surprised to be confronted by a large powerful beast. Under his control, Feyre admits to killing the wolf that actually turned out to be a faerie like the beast itself. In order to comply with the treaty between the faerie land of Prythian and the mortal world, Feyre has to give up her life to equal out the death of the wolf, either by dying or by living out her life in the hands of her captor. Once she arrives in Prythian, she is bathed in a luxury she never had before, and discovers her captor is not in fact a beast, but a high lord of the Spring Court, Tamlin. He promises to watch over her family in exchange for her cooperation. As she grows to get to know him and his cynical courtier, Lucien, they become more of her family than her real family ever was. So when she discovers the darkness sweeping over their land and threatening to harm the only place she ever felt at home, she decides to fight for them, despite their continuous warnings.

As I said earlier, I’m usually not a big fantasy fan. So when I saw this book all over Instagram, I knew I had to read it but was very afraid of not enjoying it. It has happened before with many books and I was hoping it wouldn’t happen again with such a promising book.Β Thankfully, that was an irrational fear and I absolutely loved it.Β 

It starts out a bit slow, but by the time the first 30ish pages had passed and you were introduced to the spring court, it was so interesting and it was impossible to not have at least one character that had stolen your heart. At first, it was Lucien, the cynical sidekick of Tamlin with the grief-stricken past. He’s charming and even though his relationship with Feyre starts out rocky, he turns it around towards the end. Then, once Rhysand was introduced, I instantly fell for his dark and mysterious aura he carried about him. Not only is he nobility of the most beautiful court (The Night Court), but he is helpful and practically saves Feyre despite his dark past and present with the queen that he is putting on the line. To be honest, I loved all the characters, and I loved their relationships with each other. Basically, I would’ve read this book just to experience them.

Even if you don’t love the characters, then you will love the setting. It’s a beautiful universe, one of my favorites next to the Harry Potter universe. It’s split between the mortal realm and the faerie realm, and the faerie realm is then split into multiple courts named after the times of day and the seasons. My personal favorite mentioned so far is the Night Court, where Rhysand is from, and the Spring Court, where the rest of the characters live. Β With each court delicately designed for their name, they are full of magic and wonder and it’s hard not to want to visit and explore each and every one of them. The more you love the setting, the more you get out of the book.

I recommend this book to everyone. Even if you don’t love fantasy, you will love something about this book whether it be the characters (like me), or the setting or the writing. I can already tell this is going to be one of my favorite books I’ve read this year. And for anyone who has already read this book, the sequel, a Court Of Mist And Fury, had a cover release just the other day and will be out this May! The cover is blue, opposite the red of this one, and I’m hoping it foreshadows her exploration of the Night Court and the character of Rhysand, now that she has beat her first challenge. Has anyone else read this book? Who will be reading a Court Of Mist And Fury? Any predictions?

-Lily

 

9 thoughts on “A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES

  1. I LOVE Sarah J. Maas’ work!!! I’m also excited to learn more about the Night Court! Have you read her Throne of Glass series? That is my favorite of hers so far. Books 3 and 4 in it are particularly awesome!

    Like

      1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Well… Okay she can have Tam and I guess I’ll just have to take Rhys for myself 😍 I love the strong mysterious type!

        Like

Leave a Reply

